The Heisman Trophy finalists were announced on Monday night, with LSU quarterback Joe Burrow and Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields headlining the list.

Ohio State’s Chase Young (DE) and Oklahoma quarterback Jalen Hurts round out the four finalists.

Burrow has been the frontrunner to win the award for most of the year while leading LSU to an undefeated season (13–0). He tallied 4,715 yards with 48 touchdowns with the highest pass completion percentage in the nation (77.9). The senior shattered single-season school records for passing touchdowns (41) and yards (4,014) while throwing just six interceptions. Burrow capped off his dominant season by throwing four TDs in LSU’s 37–10 win over Georgia to capture the SEC championship last weekend.

Thanks for watching!

Fields, a sophomore who transferred to Ohio State this season, started the season on a high note and never looked back. He exploded during the Buckeyes’ season opener against Florida Atlantic by finishing with a record five touchdowns—the most by any player during their Ohio State debut. In Week 4, he totaled six touchdowns in the second quarter of Ohio State’s 76–5 win over Miami (OH). Fields recorded 2,953 yards with 40 touchdowns and one interception during Ohio State’s 13–0 season. He sprained his MCL late in the season against Penn State but played with a brace on his knee to beat Michigan and then Wisconsin in the Big Ten championship game.

Thanks for watching!

Source link

Leave a Comment