No. 1 Alabama (12-0) faces off against No. 3 Ohio State (7-0) on Monday night in Monday’s national championship. 

A victory over the Buckeyes would give Crimson Tide head coach Nick Saban his seventh national title, moving into first place in terms of championships won by a college football head coach. 

The victory would also inch Alabama’s program closer to 20 national titles in school history. 

The total number of national championships for the Crimson Tide varies according to the Associated Press and the NCAA. Alabama claims they have won 17 national championships, including titles in 1925, 1926, 1930, 1934 and 1941 before legendary Alabama head coach Bear Bryant took over. The confusion and debate among these early titles centers around the polling and ranking systems for those respective years.

Source link

Leave a Comment